Posted by: katedaphne | July 21, 2009

Quick baby update

Weird OB visit this morning (once I got there, went outside to discover my car was dead this morning, what a PITA).

We did a fetal growth scan, which we do monthly to keep tabs on the babies b/c of the heart issue. Usually the two girls are “concordant,” same size within a couple of ounces or less. Today Baby B was 4 lbs, 10 oz. Baby A (the heart baby) was FIVE lbs, 11 oz!! A huge difference! Baby B’s growth was in line with what they would expect but A’s is way out there. B/c fluid and other signs looked normal, they are assuming for now it is an error in measurement and not a sign that one twin is hogging all nutrients. But they are bringing me back next week for another growth scan, with a different sonographer, just to be sure.

Regardless, we will still deliver at 38 weeks, and I am now skedded for Monday Aug. 10. Can’t wait!!!!
I feel huge and sore but glad to be this far.

Oh, and I’m up to 148 pounds, good grief. I know you are supposed to gain weight while pg, and that my weight is good. But it is still weird. And heavy. No wonder I need another nap.

Responses

  1. WOW! I can’t believe that you’re so close!

  2. 148? Amature! I was up to over 150 with a singleton.

    Good luck to both babies! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  3. You’ve done so well. I’m sure you know that fetal weights via u/s are such a guesstimate, but it is nice to hear good numbers, no? ๐Ÿ™‚

    (They had one of my twins a full pound out)

    xx

    g

  4. Kami — I know, I know… but this is different … it’s ME!

    G — yes, I know you’re absolutely right. That’s why I’m not too worried. Just another of those weird things that always happen to me.

  5. That is so great!. I’m so glad you’re good to go, that the babies are growing so well. I hope the next few weeks pass swiftly.

  6. Thats awesome, not about the dead battery. You are so close August is almost here!

  7. Great news! And the twincesses will arrive on my wedding anniversary! YAY! So happy for you!!!

  8. Wow, that’s really not very far away at all! eek!

  9. Hi! I just saw your comment on my blog and wanted to say I’m SO EXCITED for you!! Isn’t it so hard to believe when you get close to delivery? I’m sure it is even more crazy when you are the one actually delivering. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Will be watching for the big news!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

