Posted by: katedaphne | June 17, 2009

8 weeks to go

Starting to get excited, and nervous.Yesterday We hit the 30 week mark, and assuming no one has any ideas of coming early, we have eight weeks until Baby Day. (Girls, Mom here. While you know we cannot wait to meet you, do NOT come early! That is an order. If you come early, you WILL be grounded!)

Cardiology appointment today was happy. The doctor looked almost giddy. A’s heart rhythm was pretty much normal! Waa-hoo! Heart function scored 9/10. Doc can’t really explain it, but thinks maybe there was never any real heart block in there. There’s no way to know, but it doesn’t matter. This is very good news, and they’ve cut me back to monthly visits now. Which pretty much means they’ll see me one more time before we deliver.Let’s say it again: WAAA-HOOOOOO!!!!

He did drop one thing on me — he prefers a vaginal delivery for Baby A. Previously he had said it didn’t matter. Not sure if he changed his mind for a reason or if he is just inconsistent on this. SO my OB and I had decided a C-section would be best, given they are twins, and also in the thought that a vaginal birth is more stressful on the babies. Yes, I know the benefits, but with a heart baby we preferred she not go through the stress of a regular birth. A section would be harder on me, but I’m big and healthy, I can take it. So now we have to rethink. They may not be in position for a vaginal delivery, so it may just not be possible. And I am completely not up for having one vaginal and THEN needing the section. I guess we will just have to monitor closely and then decide what’s best when the  day comes. Either way, it will still be a scheduled delivery, so if we don’t section, we will induce labor on the day in question, because we want it planned and controlled and we want the cardiac team on hand.

***

The shower the other weekend was lovely. Hanging out and celebrating with our friends was wonderful. And they are all so generous and truly showered us with gifts. I will just say, these will be ADORABLY dressed little girls!!! So many thanks must go out — to the friends who planned and hosted the party and to everyone who came. THANK YOU!!!!!!

***

The nursery is finally starting to look like a nursery and not a guest room or a workshop. The cribs came this week and we got them all set up (THAT was a chore but Mike was game, and did a great job). Those cribs are so sweet and really make the room. I am still repainting some of the other furniture (I am not buying anything new except the cribs, everything else is my old (thift store) furniture I have had for years). The paint on the walls, curtains Mom made, and a few accessories from IKEA (flower-shaped wall lamp, some storage bins) and we are about in business. We just need babies, now.

In 8 weeks, of course.

Responses

  1. Just 8 weeks? SERIOUSLY? I know that it must have felt like an eternity to you, but it seems like your pregnancy has just FLOWN by! I am so, so glad to hear that A’s heart is strong!

  2. Wow. I can’t believe it’s that soon! I am VERY happy to hear that A is doing so well! I’m sure she’s a tough little fighter just like her mommy! I am super excited for you! I will keep you in my prayers and pray that the girls stay put for another eight weeks. Surely they don’t want to be grounded straight from the womb! 😉

  3. Good news. Congrats on making 30 weeks, here’s to eight more.

    xx

    g

  4. Whew! Lovely to know that she is doing so well. 8 weeks and not a moment sooner.

  5. Love, love, love hearing this!!!! You sound happy and hopeful. I think those 2 little girls may be the best-loved babies on the planet.

  6. Awesome awesome awesome! It’s worth waiting FOREVER for an update (ahem) if when it comes it’s this great. I’m so glad to hear that baby A’s heart block seems to be under control, and that everything is all in place (other than a birth plan, and really those are just great acts of wishful thinking 90% of the time anyway). Best of luck in the next 8 weeks. I can’t wait to say welcome to the world to your little girls!

  7. How wonderful! I am so happy for you, and for that amazing fighter of a gal, Little A.

    Whatever the final outcome of the birth deliberations, I’m sure you’ll make the right decision for you and your girls.

  8. Thats all such awesome news. I”m so happy for you and hope for a great delivery, in 8 weeks!

  9. Wow! That is great news about baby A. Of course, I say go for the v-delivery if possible. On the other hand, I think over 50% of inductions end in c-section and with those odds (if I am right – I may be totally making it up) I would go for the scheduled C because I think you heal faster if you haven’t labored for 12 hours first.

    Whatever . . . happy, healthy babies for you in 8 weeks no matter how the exit.

    I am so happy for you and very, very excited for Baby A

  10. Figure eight as double four,
    Figure four as half of eight.
    If you skate, you would be great,
    If you could make a figure eight.
    That’s a circle that turns ’round upon itself.

    Place it on its side and it’s a symbol meaning
    Infinity…

  11. Kick ass A! That is great news and I hope she is continuing to do well. And that the two of them are staying all cozied up in there.

  12. This post reminds me of something my Uncle Rick once said…

    if a sweat shop factory had air conditioning would it still be called a sweat shop?


Leave a Reply

Categories

