Posted by: katedaphne | February 3, 2009

Where’s my fucking GLOW?

Ok, I’m 11 weeks pregnant, and I’d sure like to know what this “pregnant woman glow” I kep hearing about is. Because I sure ain’t got it.

I look like hell.

My skin is horrible. Progesterone and I do not get along. I;m 37 years old with the acne of a seventh-grader. It’s disgusting. And halfway thru the day the oil slick on my face is absolutely unbearable. Yes, I’ve heard of blotting papers. I could go thru a pack a day. This is just ICK.

Despite being on estrogen since freaking Thanksgiving, my hair looks like hell too. It never used to be frizzy, and most of it still isn’t. Just a thin layer on top — which sticks up and out and looks all weird and wiry. Nothing I do to it makes it look good. ICK.

I have a hard time with the PIOs (yep, still on that, but hopefully only for a few more days). This chilly weather makes my hips hurt from the injections, so I walk weird and sit weird and can’t get comfortable.

Insomnia is still here, so not sleeping well == dark circles under the eyes. Call me Kate the amazing copy editing raccoon.

My stomach is rebelling against the estrogen patches by developing a nice red, bumpy rash.

And as far as I can tell, my babies, Thing1 and Thing 2, are still alive.
So I am pretty damn happy.

I only LOOK like shit.
I hope this so-called glow kicks in soon before dogs howl and kindergarteners cry and run at the sight of me.

Responses

  1. Oh I laugh and chuckle, sorry but really so happy for you. I have about the same complaints but can’t get pregnant, I think what the hell I used to take a shower everyother day my whole life now I really need one twice a day because my hair gets oily which then my very fine hair is in oily strands. I’m sure it will get better or if not just survive it for your remaining months until you have your babies then stay and home and llok like crap all by yourself for a while.

  2. Glow scha-mow! I didn;t have it either……PIO made me an uber-grease face…..it’s the cards we have been dealt! I am soo happy that this is FINALLY happening for you! What a miracle!

  3. I looked like crap when pregnant too. I hear you.

    (I’m thrilled that you’ve reached the 2nd tri. Awesome!)

  4. I thought I looked like crap when I was pregnant too…..just wait! The first few months with twins means darker circles, greasy hair because you are too tired to care, and all sorts of other fun stuff. I wouldn’t trade it for the world though!!!
    Enjoy every greasy moment 🙂

  5. At least your fancy New York jeans still look amazing!

  6. Ugh. The glow, the illusive glow. I think the hair thing is actully a result of the estrogen and the pregnancy–new hair growth starts out short,and then catches up to your other hair. you probably have hair that lenght all over your head,but its most noticeable on top.

  7. Smart alec beats the hell out of cynical. I’m lovin it!

  8. I love it too. You are glowing on the inside!

  9. Sorry for giggling at your post. I’m sure the glow will come. I’d spend nine months in a vat of grease to have your situation! 😉

  10. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    THIS IS A DREAM JOB! No gimmicks. No catch. Work from home whenever you want!

  11. I know I’m late to the game here (whoops) so I hope you’re getting your glow on and things one and two are wiggling and jiggling for you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

