Posted by: katedaphne | December 27, 2008

Well, I ~did~ ask for symptoms….

Mike and I were chatting last night and I said I wished I felt more. Symptoms, even uncomfortable ones, would be a physical reminder that something is indeed happening in there. While normal fertiles may complain about symptoms, we infertility vets appreciate the proof. We NEED it. After so much failure and loss, we need all the reassurance we can get. And then a little more on top of that. (And by symptoms I don’t mean cramping and spotting. Those are scary symptoms. I mean happy ones, like nausea, etc.)

A little while after this convo, we went to the movies (Benjamin Button, weird but worth seeing). While I got us seats, Mike went and got nachos. WHy, I am not sure. And weirdly — they had jalapenos sprinkled all over them. I don’t eat jalapenos but generally they don’t bother me or offend me. But these — the SMELL!!! I was sitting next to him, and the smell of these peppers was KILLING me. I was twisting in my seat to face away from them. Praying he’d hurry up and eat them so the smell would fade. It was horrible. At last I turned and told him the jalapenos HAD TO GO. He had no idea what I was talking about. “They have a smell? I can’t smell anything.” He wasn’t even eating them, he was eating AROUND them — which explains why the smell wasn’t getting any fainter. But he got rid of them, and at last, I was saved.

After the movie we both laughed so hard about it we could barely breathe or walk. I had asked for symptoms…!

Responses

  1. Bionic smelling? check!
    WHOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  2. I remember smelling a skunk when I was newly pregnant. OMG! I was sure it had taken up residence in our house. Just awful, but I enjoyed every stinky moment!!!! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kate, I’m just so over the moon for you. What a wonderful Christmas present for you both!!!

  4. Here from Lost and Found…

    I really enjoyed reading your Longing articles as backstory to the current good news. Also glad that Samantha is doing well.

    Both times that I was (temporarily) pregnant, I relished every twinge of nausea and instance of smell sensitivity. It probably wasn’t that much fun for my husband when I would insist that we leave places or get rid of smelly things, but I was happy in my grumpiness. Now your husband knows to ask for “no jalapenos” next time he orders nachos!

    Congrats and best wishes!

  5. Congrats Kate! So happy for you! I hear ya on the symptoms. I NEEDED them also and was happy to be nauseated, well at first anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. How exciting, Kate! I’m so glad you’re now equipped with a super-sniffer.

  7. I’ve been away from blog surfing for too long…CONGRATS! I love that jalapenos were the culprit.

  8. That’s so funny! I also have a dog nose when pregoo. Nearly everything has offensive odors. There are even certain types of fabric softeners and air fresheners that I don’t allow in the house, less the pungent smells trigger nausea and vomiting! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. SO FUNNY! Me too! I also don’t really have any symptons, and I always assumed that when pg, everything smells *bad.* But, instead, I’ve noticed that instead of things smelling bad, they just smell very very strong. VERY strong. Of course, I thought that was bad b/c I thought things were supposed to smell gross, but nope!!

  10. Enjoy your symptoms! I can’t wait to hear about more.

  11. Kate!!! I’m just catching up to your news here. How wonderful that you’re nauseated! (Never thought I’d be writing that to someone.) I can’t wait to hear the next update. My heart is leaping for you.

  12. Good to hear! Do you remember how much I love coffee? The whole time I was pregnant, I couldn’t stand the stuff. I thought I’d switch to decaf, but no go. Chris had to make it, drink it, get rid of the evidence and take the trash out before I got up. We knew I was pregnant with Beth when I got up, took a sip of coffee before I was fully awake and threw up in the sink.

    Toothpaste, too. I had to brush my teeth with an empty toothbrush because I couldn’t abide any form of toothpaste.

    So, happy nausea! The worst is when you’re nauseous and hungry at the same time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

