Posted by: katedaphne | December 23, 2008

The Bloomingdales Theory

So while we were in New York, I indulged myself by getting a personal shopper and spending an insane amount of money on new designer jeans. I rarely like to spend much on clothes — and NEVER before or during a cycle. Because, you know, new clothes won’t fit when I’m pregnant…. So for three years I’ve gone around in raggedy-ass clothes, or else have stupidly indulged in retail therapy in a haze of grief….

So this time, in the spirit of doing something completely different, we decided to try a little reverse psychology on the ole universe. Hence, The Bloomingdales Theory of Assisted Reproduction. Today I wore the Insane Waste of Money Pants (as Mike calls them) to the 5-week ultrasound. We saw:

1. A gestational sac
2. Probably, another gestational sac!

Nurse called twins, doc wants to wait until the 7-week u/s to call it but says, “60 percent chance.”

I am calling twins, because the night before the first beta, I had cramping and spotting, like implantation spotting. First beta was 79. Two days later beta had TRIPLED to 242. So I’m thinking two, with one being a late implanter.

Still petrified out of my mind that something will go wrong. But for this week, we are going to enjoy a happy Christmas.

God bless Bloomingdales.

Responses

  1. That is very exciting. 🙂
    And if those pants mean you look fabulous and have good luck, then they are definitely not a waste of money.

  2. How exciting! I can’t wait for the 7 week ultrasound! 🙂

  3. Congrats

    It worked with Gabriel. $500 suit I wore for 6 weeks. . . .

  4. How totally wonderful!!!!! What a great way to start Christmas.
    I cant wait to hear the results of the next ultrasound!!!

  5. Holy moly, Kate, this is wonderful news!!!!

  6. Happy Christmas, indeed! Congratulations!

  7. Smiles.

    Merry Christmas to all of you

    xx

    J

  8. What a great Christmas present!! And the pants were totally worth it!

  9. Fabulous!!!!! Merry Chirstmas:)

  10. Love it!

  11. So excited for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

