Posted by: katedaphne | December 21, 2008

The puppy dogs and the p-word

* Lots going on around here. Best of all, Samantha gets to come home tomorrow! (Monday) She has recovered extremely well and the vet is very pleased. And so are we. Must go get lots of Christmas toys and treats for her!

* Mike and I did some holiday cleaning today, and I must say, our place looks great! We are both something of a pack rat, so it is a daily challenge for us to fight that back. Also, in August I fired “the help” because they kept leaving the door open (thereby leaving the dogs unsecure). So I haven’t had any help around the house for five months. I really need to find someone new. It is a hassle, but having the house in better shape is a huge help, and we both feel better and are more productive in other ways.

* Since the beta, I have been feeling rather disoriented. It sounds weird to say but, I don’t know how to do this. Do what? Act happy. Act normal. I have had years of disapointment, grief, etc., including the past two consecutive Christmases. I have gotten pretty good at grief. This happy thing — it’s too strange. I don’t have the hang of it yet.

I keep thinking I am just a poseur. I didn’t really get a positive beta. I’m not really the p-word. Surely the game is up. But … I haven’t had my period. No spotting. A few pulling type of feelings but no painful cramps. So, maybe I am the p-word. I think I will POAS again tomorrow morning just to help convince myself.

First u/s on Tuesday morning. That will help it seem more real.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry that I haven’t been around to comment yet, but do trust that I’ve been here in the background anxiously awaiting every one of your posts through the 2ww. I am THRILLED for you, and I’m turning backflips here on my side of the ‘net. I can’t wait for your u/s on Tuesday!

  2. Hooray for Sam. If you are interested, send me an email, and I can give you some ideas about trying to prevent bloat in the future.

  3. Good luck at your scan, and I didn’t feel p-word even when I couldn’t see my feet any more.

    J

  4. It will take a while to get used to. I don’t think I believed it until I saw two babies being delivered via c-section 2 weeks ago! Even at that point I felt numb and in shock. It’s just too hard to understand when it’s been such a tough process. I can’t wait for your u/s!

  5. congrats on the pregnancy, and yaah for your beloved dog being better. Fingers crossed that 2009 is a wonderful year for all of you.

  6. Thinking of you as you get ready to go take a peek. Praying for wonderful, normal news.:)

  7. I completely understand and so happy for you!

    Twins, huh? Hmmm . . .

    I am going to enjoy sharing this journey to parenthood with you


Leave a Reply

Categories

