Posted by: katedaphne | December 18, 2008

Bittersweet Day, Update

ok, doggie update. It was stomach torsion, or “bloat.” Basically air gets in their tummy and messes up things horribly. A usual twist is 180 degrees, hers was 270! Also, her stomach was completely flipped end-to-end. In surgery the vet correctly positioned the organ and looked carefully for other damage and also for anything else like lesions, tumors, etc., found nothing else. She is out of surgery and is “ok” but is not out of the woods yet and he said he can’t promise she’ll be okay. 4 out of 10 dogs with this condition do not make it. He is keeping her tonight and will call later with another update.

I am so sad. This is such a sweet dog. This was supposed to be Mike’s and my big happy day — and instead it is the day my dog might die. I can’t stand it! Why can’t I just have one good day?

But, on the good side. Right now, we have a live baby and a live dog. One day at a time I guess. We have a 5 1/2 week u/s planned for Tuesday morning, and the 7 week will be Jan. 6. I can’t wait to tell my mom and dad tonight. I have not told them about the pee stix or the first beta so it will be a nice surprise for them.

Responses

  1. hang in there love, I know it’s awfully scary, but like I said, Delta’s had this done 3 times. . ..

  2. Thanks, I’m trying. In the surgery our vet did some kind of procedure to adhere some part of her stomach to something else (unclear on details) to prevent stomach from twisting again. Did they do that for Delta?

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your doggie. This is something I always fear with my 2 labs.

    Great beta btw!

  4. Congratulations on the exciting betas! I am so, soooo happy for you!!!!

    I’m sorry the news was tempered by your doggie’s surgery but hopefully he is all fixed up now. Hugs, and many congratulations!!!! It is your turn!!

  5. I am so sorry about your dog. I hope all goes well and she pulls through with ease. Poor gal.

    Fantastic beta! Woot!

  6. Hang in there puppy!! Hang in there Kate! The universe sometimes has a very, very sick sense of humor, yes?

    Wonderful beta, thinking of you both…let us know how you’re both doing….

  7. AWESOME BETA !!!! Sweet!

    And we’ll keep your puppy in our thoughts and prayers too. We TOTALLY understand the pets are part of the family thing…. keep us posted. HUGS.

  8. So sorry about your doggy drama – I hope he’s ok.

    And I can’t wait to hear about your parent’s reactions!

  9. sooo bitter sweet…….hang in there Kate, but dang it, you are freakin prego finally and that is freakin awesome dude!! YAY!


Leave a Reply

Categories

