Posted by: katedaphne | November 11, 2008

The cycle

Yep, it is all still on. The nurse told me our donor is doing well and will start her meds soon. I am more or less over the UTI — just when I think it’s gone I get a twinge so it’s not quite gone but almost. I took my last BCP Sunday and am regularly injecting 20 units of the Devil Drug (lupron) into myself. And am waiting for the “lupron period.” It is supposedly due tomorrow but knowing me it will be a bit longer than that.

Went to get my pap and vaginal cultures updated yesterday but the doc’s office did not have the correct medium on hand so I have to go back. (This did not stop them from trying to charge me a co-pay for the procedure I did not actually undergo, but I’ve found a steady stare paired with a faint smile go a long way to getting you what you want. Eventually they generally give you what you want just to make you go away.)

Had a horrible lupron headache this past weekend, I was actually sitting on the couch pressing my hands against the sides of my head. You know, to keep my brains in. It was probably in the Top 5 of Bad Lupron Headaches to Remember. Then I had the headache hangover for about two days. Now the headache is gone, only to be replaced by the old Lupron Mood Swings. Seriously, I do not know how my husband is managing to live with me these days. I am driving MYSELF nuts! But he told me tonight, “This isn’t my first rodeo, you know.”

Well, it will all be worth it when I finally have the privilege of goings day without sleep, scrubbing vomit out of the carpet, driving in circles around the neighborhood trying to trick a screaming baby into falling asleep, trying to keep the dogs from eating the poopy diapers — all while wearing the same clothes I’ve worn for a month. (See, I’m under no illusions about parenthood! And I STILL think it’ll be better than lupron! Bring it on!!! 🙂

Responses

  1. Oh the lupron headaches….

    Oh my I remember those evil buggers. Just awful.

    xx

    J

  2. Way better than Loopy Lupron. As much as I hate the stuff, I can’t wait to start shooting up with it. Hopefully, this will be the last go-round with Lupron needed for you!

  3. keep us posted! i’ve been thinking of you!

  4. I LOVE your last paragraph. Oh, I hope! I can’t wait to hear you doing all of these things.

  5. and I feel so PRIVILEGED to hope you can join me in embracing all that stuff in the last paragraph!!! Every time I hear the “SPLAT” of barf hit the floor, I thank my lucky stars for DE!!!

  6. That last paragraph is perfect. I think that babies would definitely be preferable to lupron.
    Keep holding those brains in!


Leave a Reply

Categories

