Posted by: katedaphne | August 21, 2008

I am a Lupron Bitch

This post is going to be a big, fat whine. Please feel free not to read it. I’m writing in the hopes that it will make me feel less like smashing heads.*

I’ve been on the Lupron for a week and boy is it getting ugly around here. I had one massive Lupron headache Saturday but nothing since then. I can’t decide if that’s good or not. I’d almost rather have the headache than these other weird side effects. Lupron always makes me tired as hell, and what with that, a near-miss tropical storm, and a terminal cat — yeah, you could say my ass is dragging. I was half an hour late for work this morning because I just couldn’t, wouldn’t get up, and then, once up, failed pretty miserably at moving in any kind of effectual manner. Then it took me three tries to correctly dial my boss’s cell phone to tell her I was in fact coming to work, you know, sometime. (Is it bad that I blamed it in part on my cat? I did take the time to puree her Fancy Feast in the blender with some water because I was out of the baby food she’s been eating and even wet cat food is too chunky for her now. But it really wasn’t her fault, I was plenty late on my own.)

And the mood swings have definitely kicked in. That’s a nice way to put it. They are more like rage attacks. Irritation and sheer pissiness out of all proportion to whatever the trigger is. Which could be as reasonable as someone who through ignorance and orneriness caused me a lot of trouble and effort at work today — or as unreasonable as someone daring to breathe air within a square mile of me. The good thing is after being on Lupron so many times I can generally recognize these moods for what they are and start to talk myself out of the tree. The bad thing is — it’s a big friggin’ tree.

I started writing this early in the evening and was going to say the only mood issues were related to anger, but later in the evening I went into a completely unreasonable (as in, for no direct, apparent reason, apart from my usual boring crap) sad, blue funk. It’s different from the usual deep blue funks, hard to explain how except that I can tell it has its roots in reality but is definitely exacerbated by the drugs.

I don’t generally look forward to AF but I am now praying for the lupron bleed so I can start the estrogen patches and get some semblance of sanity back. Also, my nails look like crap. (Estrogen helps with that.)

*Note, I do not actually advocate violence of any kind for any reason. Lupron just makes me fantasize about it a little more than usual.

—-

ps, I am extremely grateful Hurricane Fay didn’t affect us, and am worried about my friends on the east coast who are getting record rainfalls and flooding, and those in the Panhandle who are in Fay’s path.

Responses

  1. Aww, crap. I’m sorry this sucks so bad. Is totally not fair.

  2. I hate that out-of-control, out-of-the-blue emotional crap that comes from all these mind-altering, hormone-destroying drugs. Just don’t hurt ’em too badly and be as kind to yourself as you can. You’re a brave, tough woman to undertake this venture.

    I hope the bleed starts soon and your nails get whipped into tip-top shape.

  3. Ugh, I’m sorry you’re feeling so bad. It’s bad enough that we have to deal with all of this, but, when it makes us raving lunatics AND we know what’s causing it but cant change anything….seriously, it just blows.

  4. UGH. Hang in there. I get bad lupron headaches, too- I find that of all things, peppermint tea really helps (it was recommended by my acupuncturist once, who knew)- maybe it would help with the blue funks, too? I’m feeling like I have written this to you before- so if I’m reapeating myself, I apologize!

  5. Lupron makes me cranky too. It’s put me in the most incredibly foul mood this week. Hang in there!

  6. Lupron bites. I have heard of some DE cyclers getting to use Ganirelix–I had to soldier through the lupron, but maybe there are options for you 🙂

  7. Man, everyone that takes Lupron has written about how awful it makes them. I’m scared. I hope that you come back from unbalanced soon.

  8. Oh, I remember the blinding headaches….

    my sympathies…

    xx

    J

  9. Yeah for Lupron! Ok, the side effects suck, but it is progress, no?

    I hope things are going better for you and you had a nice weekend.

  10. Yep, I hear ya on the lupron thing. Pretty much made me into a basket case when I took it. Even when you KNOW it’s the lupron talking, it still doesn’t mean you can act rationally. Those emotions, those feelings are REAL, no matter how they got there! Just gotta deep breathe and get though the day somehow. Alone in a cave would be nice. Sending hugs.

  11. Hi. I’m on number IVF #5. Lupron (bitch juice) is killing me. Please send kind words to the funeral home as I’m sure to be dead come tomorrow.

  12. It’s hard being on Lupron. Especially when you’re 18. Your friends don’t understand so you distance yourself. No one understands why you get so irritated or mad over little things. Then I work in customer service and people are constantly coming asking questions or have attitudes when you can’t do something to benefit them, and it makes you hate every human, and snap. I wish I had my old life back. It is either be irritate or depressed, or be in pain. Not to mention I was 106, skinny and fit. Healthy. Now I eat the same and weigh 120. I’m small so the dramatic weight gain honestly just is no good. This happened in one month.


Leave a Reply

Categories

