Posted by: katedaphne | August 18, 2008

Mandatory Evacuation

As if we don’t have enough to deal with! This afternoon a mandatory evacuation was declared for my area effective 6 a.m. tomorrow.

I am one of those storm-be-damned kind fo people who probably would not go, but because we are separated from the mainland by bridges in both directions, we kind of have to. I don’t want to get stranded because of a closed bridge and end up on the opposite side from where either my pets, or my lupron, are! Especially Olivia, who needs her special food and her meds.

We’ll be holing up at my parents’ place I think, which is nearby but in a safe zone.

The last time we had to evacuate was in August 2004 for Hurricane Charley. It was Friday the 13th. That was the day I had my first miscarriage.

No wonder I am getting the heebie-jeebies today.

Responses

  1. Oh boo. This does not sound fun. Stay safe.

  2. Please let us know how you are!! Good luck!

  3. Wow, I’ve been away for two weeks but see you have lots going on.
    I hope you stay safe.
    Amazing to think your sister will provide you with DEs. I’ve thought about asking my sister. I don’t know if she could deal with it.
    So so sorry about your kitty (and am amazed yet again, as my DH is also allergic to my kitties that were on the scene before him).


Leave a Reply

Categories

