Posted by: katedaphne | August 11, 2008

Because life doesn’t stop just because I am infertile

SHITBUCKET
damndamndamn

We found out today that our kittycat Olivia has cancer. It’s bad.
Radiation therapy is a possibilty and works well on dogs with her kind of cancer, but it doesn’t work much on cats.
If she were my vet’s cat, he wouldn’t put her through that and thinks she probably couldn’t survive it.
Three months.


That’s Olivia there on the left. Next to her is her son Max, and behind them is Nicky.

Olivia was marked out for me before she was even weaned. When I interviewed for my first post-college job, in Anderson, S.C., a photographer I made friends with said I just had to have one of her cat’s kittens, it was the cutest one, I just had to get the job so I could have this kitten. Well, I did get the job, and a few weeks after I moved down there and got settled I went to fetch Olivia. I didn’t want her to be lonely so I took a littermate too, Daphne.

That was about 14 and a half years ago. So she’s not a young cat, but she’s not old either. (I’ve also had Mike for about 14 and a half years. He was allergic so he wasn’t big on my kindle, as we called them, but I told him in my experience cats hung around longer than boyfriends. Turned out they all stuck around, so it was a good deal for me.)

She’s a hilarious cat. She knows her name, comes when called, and practically speaks English. The swear words anyway. (You scoff, but I’ve heard her. I don’t know where she could’ve picked up such language…)

I am devastated, as you can well imagine. My eyes hurt from crying. And from trying not to cry.

Shitbucket.

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry. There aren’t any good words to say. Wishing you peace and comfort and care.

    ((((Olivia and you))))

  2. I’m so sorry. Our kitties are a huge part of our lives too and completely understand your devastation. 😦

  3. Oh fuck. I love my cats and can’t imagine dealing with this. I am so, so sorry. I wish there were something better to say. ::hug::

  4. I’m so sorry, I don’t have a kitty but I do have a dog. She annoys me so much I wouldn’t know what to do without her. Whatever you decide I hope for peace for you and Olivia.

  5. I am so sorry. I lost my special cat earlier this year, and it was heartbreaking. There are some cats that you just bond with and Olivia sounds like that kind of gal. Wishing both of you comfort and peace.

  6. I’m sorry you’ve received such bad news about Olivia’s prognosis. Just remember whatever happens in the next few months, she’s had a wonderful life with you.

  7. I am so sorry, Kate. If there were any justice in the world, our pets would live as long as us. I hope she has a very wonderful 3 plus months and it is crystal clear to you when it is time to say good bye.

    I am thinking of the pets I have said good bye too. It is just so sad. Olivia sounds like one of those pets – the ones you will always remember and everyone after will be compared to.

  8. I’m so sorry.

  9. I am so very sorry. What a kick in the guts,

    xx

    J

  10. I’m so very sorry. My 14 year old cat had to be put down a few weeks ago. It’s sad. As you said, that’s not young, but, it’s not really old either.

  11. So sorry to hear about your kitty.

  12. I am so sorry. As a animal lover with two cats, who are my babies, I can sympathize with you exponentially. I am so so sorry.

  13. I’m so sorry. 😦 I can only imagine the pain you’re in. I love my furbaby and also would be devastated if something were to happen to her. (((HUGS)))

  14. I am so sorry. I know exactly how you feel. Sammie was diagnosed with Lymphosarcoma on May 12. Unfortunately the cancer spread so quickly we ended up putting her to sleep on May 31. I still miss her and cry for her to this day.

    Furbabies are our lifeline through IF.


Leave a Reply

Categories

