Posted by: katedaphne | August 1, 2008

The Girl in the Window

Ok, I’d like to share a newspaper story with you, because it is an incredible story about an amazing family and a little girl they adopted. You may not want to read it, because it describes some very, very severe child neglect, probably the worst you’ve ever heard of. But the story doesn’t dwell on that; the heart of it is about the girl’s present and future, not her past. It’s written by one of the best feature writers in the business, and she did a lovely job. She wrote it with caring and insight and beauty.

Again, I want to warn you, if you don’t like reading about children in danger or are not in a space where you can hear about children and adoption, don’t follow this link. Or, follow it but be ready to skim over the first section, at least, and then hop down to Part 2, “Becoming Dani,” and go from there.

It’s long, but it is very worth the time. I doubt you’ll read a better newspaper story this year.
In my humble opinion.

The Girl in the Window.

Responses

  1. Wow. Thank you for sharing that. It’s truly heart wrenching. The anger I feel toward this woman (the girl’s mom) is extraordinary. You know what stands out to me after reading that? The comment that they “always try to keep the children with the parents and get the parents help”. MAYBE THEY SHOULD START PUTTING THE KIDS IN THE BEST SITUATION WITH OTHER PEOPLE AND TERMINATE THE RIGHTS OF THESE MOMS. Unbelievable. Your responsibilities as a human and as a citizen of this country are far greater than your rights as a parent. Outrageous.

    On a side note, there is a cover story in the National Review right now about adoption in the US and it talks about how the foster system keeps kids too long to get adopted because it’s so hard to terminate parental rights. It’s quite interesting.

  2. Wow. What amazing people. I have no doubt Dani will continue to flourish in her new life.

    As for her birth mother, there are no words. It is a shame the system let her off so easily, butthat is the best thing for Dani I guess.

  3. I have always said that you have to take a test to drive a car why not a test to determine if you should become a parent. And not just the female, but males should be tested too. If you cant pass the test you can not have children. So many children in the system today are not infants and have too many issues for a family to take on. Or you put all the work in to being a foster family and getting the child the help needed and the system pulls them and puts them back with there parent. Stories like this outrage me, I am greatful for Diane and Bernie and of course William but the biological mother got off too easy!

  4. What an amazing story. Thanks for sharing it. I’m so glad Dani got into such a loving family.

  5. Holy shit.
    I just read the article and…wow. I don’t even know what to say but I feel violent towards her birth mother. Seriously violent.
    And that it took that long for her to be rescued? Something needs to be done about our system. Damn.

  6. Oh! I don’t know what to say. I am crying. Crying at the tender hearts of the foster parents. Crying that a disturbed woman with an IQ of 77 was left for so long with a daughter she couldn’t care for. Crying for Dani. Thank you for linking to the story. I think it will stay with me for a long time. And if I am ever lucky enough to have a child, I will give that child an extra hug for Dani. There is such sadness and distress in the world but I am glad Dani is finally with a family who love her. And that brother of hers? What an amazing kid.

  7. Wow. What a sad situation. It is unbelievable how we don’t care for others in our society. We should all get to know our neighbors so we will notice if something is wrong. Michele should have never been left alone to raise that child. So sad.

    It makes me more thankful for the wonderful life I have.

  8. Wow….that is the saddest but best article i have read in a long time. Dani, God Bless her, may she continue to grow, to feel safe, to be loved and may the people who took her in be rewarded for ever. Thanks SO MUCH for sharing.

  9. That was the saddest article I have ever read, but the strength of the family and of this little girl amaze me.

    The power of the human spirit is indeed amazing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

