Posted by: katedaphne | May 15, 2008

3650 Days

Tomorrow’s our 10th anniversary. I don’t have any wedding pictures on the computer to share because that was so long ago it was pretty much before digital and I haven’t gotten around to actually scanning any in. But here’s one I love of the two of us on vacation in Greece a couple of years ago (in between our first and second IVFs, I might add).

I met my sweetie when I interviewed for my first job out of college. It was at a newspaper. I was going for a copy editing job, he was the night cops reporter. We met in the pressroom where they were having a party for a pressman named Joe Bob or some such (this was in South Carolina) who had been a pressman for 50 years. Someone handed me cake, I took a bite, and Mike came up and introduced himself. I had blue frosting on my teeth.

I got the job, and a week or two in, my boss had a party to welcome me and another girl, and say goodbye to the two short-timers. I met MIke again there, we talked all nght to no one but each other (while his friends Eric and Kathleen were making faces at him behind my back and throwing popcorn at him). He asked me to join the three of them the next day for a film festival in Atlanta (2 hour road trip). I said what the hell — and we have been pretty much inseparable ever since.

That was 14 years ago. We took it slow, though we always knew we’d be staying together. After a few years we moved to Fort Myers, Fla., for better jobs, and in 1998 we got married on Sanibel Island. We had just moved the month before to the Tampa area, so we had to travel back down for the wedding. We were blessed to see dolphins jumping and pelicans diving just before the ceremony. It was a lovely wedding and all our friends and family were there.

At the end of the night, I had a spider in my dress (scared the CRAP out of me but is supposed to be good luck, whose mama thought THAT one up real quick for a freaked-out bride?) and no hotel room due to a mix-up. We went back to the hotel where the rest of our peeps wre staying, booted someone out of their room — and the rest is history.

This IF experience has been total bullshit from Day One, and it breaks my heart that this person I love so much has to suffer so. But there’s no one I’d rather have by my side than my dear dear husband.

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary! That picture is beautiful=)

  2. Happy Anniversary! Such a sweet post. 🙂

  3. Happy anniversary to you and your husband! I love the story of how the two of you came to be together!

  4. Happy anniversary to the two of you,

    J

  5. Happy Anniversary! Love Greece!!

  6. Happy Anniversary!

  7. Happy Anniversary Kate & Mike

  8. Hi Kate,
    I just caught up with your blog b/c I was away. I’m really sorry the ET wasn’t what we hoped. UGH. I am glad you are going away….you are in my thoughts!

  9. I’m a little late but couldn’t resist saying congrats as well. You and your husband must have an incredible bond to have weathered such adversity together.

  10. Happy Anniversary!! My hubby and I went to Greece couple years ago as well just before our 3rd IVF. Greece was our favorite trip ….. we loved it there 🙂 🙂

  11. Just checking in. Did Miracle Max save the day?


Leave a Reply

Categories

