Posted by: katedaphne | May 13, 2008

I need Miracle Max

Remember Miracle Max? From The Princess Bride? Inigo and Fezzik brought the Man in Black to him. Miracle Max pronounced him “mostly dead,” which means he’s still a little bit alive, and gave him a tasty chocolate pill.

Well, we really need Miracle Max, because today we transferred two mostly dead blasts into my uterus, aka, the place where embies go to die. The doc said at first we only had one and it was pretty ugly. We saw the pic. It was all raggedy and had a lot of black spots (meaning, dead spots). I have seen pics of beautiful embies; these were not at all like those. But he said if we wanted to transfer it we might as well, since we were there and all. In the OR, the embryologist said we should transfer one other as well,  since it still had a few cells alive. Overall, it was a pretty painful (oh, the BLADDER!) and uncomfortable and sad morning.

I was about to cry from the bladder pain — they were kind of unorganized, just moved into new wing of hospital so I was first tx there and no one seemed really sure where to go, etc. So my bladder was overly full for much longer than it was supposed to be. Then, when we got the shitty-ass news, I wanted to cry from that. Then the whole procedure got started. And you know how these go for me and my cervix from hell…

Came home and slept off the valium for about 4 hours. I wish I could sleep for about a month. Or a year.

Bye bye, bio baby. Maybe I’ll get to meet some of you in heaven, because I sure don’t think I am ever going to meet you here.

Responses

  1. CRAP! You never know…..I have heard “those” stories of bad embies turning out as RLB babies…..all we can do is pray and Miracle Max better pull thru or I am going to beat him back to death!

  2. Oh Kate, I am so sorry. My last chance with my eggs was a huge disappointment too. I cried every day from transfer to the beta.

    I hope that somehow it works. If it doesn’t, you can be sure some of your genes will be in your Someday Baby even if it is via your sister.

    Please keep us posted on how you are doing.

  3. Oh I’m sorry Kate. I was hoping for better news. Crap, crap, crap.

  4. I wish that today’s transfer had been better for you. You are in my thoughts.

  5. I am so sorry.
    I hope Miracle Max comes through for you. Take care of yourself.

  6. I am so sorry. It is such an awful feeling, I know. Take care of yourself and have a great vacation- it sounds wonderful, and hopefully will be a good distraction for you!

  7. Kate~Sending you comforting thoughts and many prayers for that miracle.

  8. Hoping and hoping some more for you…may Miracle Max give you a miracle, or 2 😉

  9. I’m sorry things are looking bad. I hope that you get that miracle.

  10. Don’t know what to say but wanted to let you know I’m here, reading along, caring, hoping for the best.

  11. I just wanted to say I’m so sorry to hear about your embies. I hope for a miracle as well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

