Posted by: katedaphne | March 4, 2008

Cue Glenn Frey…

… cuz the FET is on.
glennfrey.jpg

The FET is on, on the street
Inside your head, on every beat
And the beat’s so loud, deep inside
The pressure’s high, just to stay alive
‘Cause the FET is on

Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
Caught up in the action I’ve been looking out for you
Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
The FET is on, the FET is on, the FET is on, the FET is on
Oh it’s on the street, the FET is – on

Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
Caught up in the action I’ve been looking out for you
Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
The FET is on, the FET is on, the FET is on
Oh it’s on the street , the FET is – on

The shadows are on the darker side
Behind those doors, it’s a wilder ride
You can make a break, you can win or lose
That’s a chance you take, when the FET’s on you
When the FET is on

Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
Caught up in the action I’ve been looking out for you
Oh-wo-ho, oh-wo-ho
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
(Tell me can you feel it)
The FET is on, the FET is on, the FET is on

It’s on the street
The FET is on, the FET is on, the FET is on
Yeah it’s on the street
The FET is on

(yeah, guilty, I’m an ’80s music freak. And I pronounce FET the same as feet or feat).

Today is CD4, and we are doing a mock cycle for a FET. We are going to give the four frozen blasts we have here in Tampa a try. They are from our third IVF, which was with our second (or third, depending on how you count) RE. She got a good number of eggs and they practically all fertilized (13 of 15!), we transferred three Grade A eight-cellers, but to no avail. Though those embies were great, we had others that cycle that had dark rims (forget the medical term) — it was the first sign that although I was only barely 35 I might be a lot older in egg years.

When we moved on to Cornell, the doc there thought I’d been stimmed too aggressively and therefore we’d overcooked the eggs, more or less. So we don’t have high hopes for this FET; there’s no reason to think these embies will be of real good quality and freezing them certainly doesn’t help them. But we shall give them a try.

We’re switching local clinics though, as I may have mentioned here. I wasn’t super happy with my last doc here — and was very UNhappy with the way she handled my transfer. She also arbitrarily changed our plan from a 5dt to a 3dt with no reason or explanation. Since we had 13 embryos on day three, we could certainly have gone on to a 5dt. I think she changed it so she wouldn’t have to work on Sunday, myself. So, we are transporting the frozen embies to another local clinic, where I really like and trust the staff and the doctors. They have taken great care of me so far and I feel like they will do right by me and my little snowflakes. Transporting the kids across town takes a little planning but isn’t too hard. The embryologist is really cool and helpful and is taking care of everything for us.

We also have one blast in New York from our first Cornell cycle (fourth fresh, for those keeping score at home). Our original plan was to also transport this one down here and use it at the same time and throw in everybody who survived the thaw. But we discovered the logistics of moving the little guy from Cornell to here were pretty complicated. Also, the cost is absolutely ridiculous (and this coming from someone who’s paid for five IVFs out of pocket so my perspective of money is totally twisted). It can certainly be done, but the idea of it was stressing me out so much we decided to hold off on the Cornell embie. We’ll give that one a try later, and we’ll go up to New York to do it. It will still be way easier than a fresh up there.

So this month we are doing a mock cycle with meds. I am taking Estrace 3x a day, started that on CD2. Next Thursday I will have a saline sonogram and mock transfer, and they will measure my lining. If all is well, we will do the real thing next month; I’ll be looking at a transfer around April 18 or so. Why not just do a tx now and save time and not waste a good lining? Good question, Grasshopper. Well, I sort of suspect they’ll find a polyp during the saline sonogram. I’ve had a lot of pre-AF spotting lately; it may be nothing but a polyp wouldn’t surprise me. If there is one, we’ll have to get it out before proceeding, of course. Also, Mike’s entire extended family is visiting this month and a tx would be smack in the middle of their visit. We’re close and all, and they know everything and are very supportive. But it’s just easier to wait. It’s no biggie to wait, I don’t mind.

Sorry it’s been so long since I updated. I haven’t been feeling real great — for me, anxiety and depression manifest as insomnia. And when I’m tired I am a total beeyotch, let me tell you. Although I do have lunesta for that, you can’t take it every night. So it has been a struggle to maintain lately. I’ll try to write more about that later. But at least I got the feat — I mean FET! — on the record.

Ciao!

Responses

  1. Whoo! Very exciting – and I was totally singing along in my head.

  2. I love that song! Best wishes to you…

  3. Sounds like a great plan! The fact that 4 blasts made it to day 5 is a good predictor of quality, in my book- even if they had overstimmed you (btw, my Cornell doc (SS) told me the SAME THING about my old clinic, you are making me wonder if they tell everyone that?) if they were bad quality they probably would not have made it to blast. At least, that is how I would look at it. Cautious optimism, right?

  4. B&C — On one level, I totally know you’re right. On another, I’ve seen too many apparently perfect embryos go into my uterus and not make it. But yes, cautious optimism. If we weren’t optimistic at all, we wouldn’t even cycle, right?

    Hi Io, hi JJ {waves}

  5. Glad to see you back.
    Congrats on having the plan in place for the FET. I am all about cautious optimism, and I am wihing you the best!

  6. Good luck! I will be watching closely!

  7. Thinking good thoughts for you and waiting anxiously with you 🙂

    Shel from pinningourhopes

  8. Here we go!! I cannot wait and sending lots of happy thawing vibes to your future babies!!

  9. I agree with beauty&courage’s logic… G/L

  10. Sorry I’m a little slow catching up but I’m glad you are moving ahead. My transfer is just a week ahead of yours. Good luck to you!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

