Posted by: katedaphne | January 27, 2008

Tag! I’m “It”

I always wanted to be an It Girl. Now I am! Thanks KatarinaJellyBeana! OK, here goes.

The Rules:
1) Link to the person  who tagged you.
2) Post the rules on your blog.
3) Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.
4) Tag at least three people at the end of your post and link to their blogs.
5) Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
6) Let the fun begin!

Six Things About Me

1) I have a lot of pets. It is kind of ridiculous, actually, but I adore them all. I have three cats (Olivia, Daphne, and Max) and two dogs. Samantha is a carrot-colored retriever/chow mix and Nicky is a little black peke-a-poo. We used to have a third dog, a solid concrete-block of a dude also named Max. Max-the-Dog passed away of cancer a couple years ago. We still miss him a lot. Back when we had three and three, I used to say we had the Brady Bunch of pets.

Daphne This is Daphne (yes, she is my screenname namesake…)

Olivia Olivia

Max-the-Cat Max

Samantha Samantha

Nick Nick

2) I am an amateur artist. NOT good at all, but I enjoy painting. I like to do kind of bad, impressionist (or is it EXpressionist?) landscapes. Lots are based on my vacation pics. I’m probably a better photographer than painter, and I like photography — but painting is more fun. I like to get messy and screw around. I work really fast, and if I don’t finish a project in a day or two I lose interest. I also like to fix up and paint furniture. Several pieces in my house are junkyard rescues. — oh yes — I like to dumpster dive for raw materials. And I am not above sending my husband out in the middle of the night to raid someone’s garbage pile! I am working on a pretty elaborate mosaic on my dining room table. It’s a wrought-iron-legged thing with a formica top, and I’m using small marble tiles in different colors to make a picture of two large birds drinking from a fountain. I’ve been working on it for about two years, and it is allllmmmoooooooossstttt done. Someday I’ll upload pics of some of this stuff, for your amusement.

3) I am a total bookworm. I read ALL the time. I read a book or two or several magazines a week. So far this year I have read Love in the Time of Cholera, The Tenth Circle (by Jodi Picoult), and The Last Time They Met (by Anita Shreve). Plus assorted New Yorkers, Times and Newsweeks. Also, I read some of the newspaper every day. I read while I eat. I read while I brush my teeth. (If I’m at a good part my teeth get reeeeeally clean.) I like mysteries, historical fiction, chick lit, military novels, adventure, spy, thrillers. Now and then a little non-fiction. Also, I read books I like over and over. I have some of my faves practically memorized. It’s a sickness.

4) I’m half Greek. My father’s father came through Ellis Island in the 19teens from the island of Samos. His mother was born in the U.S.; her parents came over from mainland Greece, a small village near Sparta.

5) I am a geek for board games. I love them all, and cards too. From Monopoly to cribbage, I am always up for a game. I like the social aspect of playing games with friends and family, and I like the challenge.

6) I like columns. Not the kind in the newspaper, the kinds left over from ancient temples and markets and such. Ionic columns are my favorite but I love them all. I love to travel, and my favorite places are Greece and Rome because there are lots of columns and other ruins there. I’d like to have a column or two in my house, but since our place is more Small-Beach-Stilt-House style than Ancient-Pagan-Temple style, I can’t quite figure out how to work one in. I’m thinking of painting one on the wall somewhere.

So, that’s me. Now I have to tag three other people. I’ll start with Sarah. Next up, Chicklet, and last but not least Freyja.

Fun game! Last night we watched the movie Breach, about the American spy Robert Hanssen. He liked to play a little game where he made people tell him five thigns about themselves, four of them true. He could always guess the lie. That would be fun to play with friends too!

Responses

  1. Kate you are such a doll and SO strong with everything you’ve been through. Your spirit seems back in the game – which I’m so glad to see. Your heart will guide you on what to do/where to go next. If you want a baby, then you will have your baby. Period.

  2. Hey, I’ll do this this weekend:-) But the columns things cracks me up cuz I totally thought you meant the ones in paper or Excel… until I read it all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

