Posted by: katedaphne | November 14, 2007

IF and depression

Ok, today we are not going to get thoughtful discourse on the correlation between infertility and depression, et cetera, et cetera.

I am simply going to say: I miss my meds.

I started taking an anti-depressant in June (also, sleeping pills). It made a huge difference. It was never something I wanted to be on indefinitely, but it helped me get through a really difficult time.

I stopped taking it last month because I didn’t want to be on anything while going through an IVF cycle. And I am doing ok. Not, you know, HAPPY, or anything. But I can handle whatever comes my way now.

But I have to admit, on these really moody-swingy days, I seriously miss that stuff. It is just so much WORK to maintain normalcy. By the end of the day, I am exhausted and struggling to maintain.

 But I can. That’s the main thing. I do miss the help, though. That’s all I’m saying.

Responses

  1. It IS hard to try and stay even, never mind shooting for happiness.

    Have you tried chocolate? Works great for me. I will also dip into my x.anax bottle every once in a while. I can just feel my emotions dissolving away as it starts to make me a bit sleepy.

    Hey, everyone needs a break now and then, right?

  2. Chocolate, ha, I am eating chocolate ice cream as I type this!! With hot fudge! I am also a fan of raw cookie dough. We all have our coping mechanisms.

  3. I miss my meds too 🙂 I just started my first IVF cycle and I went off them a few months ago. You said it well – it is so much work to maintain normalcy. I don’t think the time of year helps either. So much darkness brings me down a little.

    Hang in there!

  4. Girl…I feel ya! Trying to stay sane during IVF and IF is nearly impossible. If we were battleing another disease we would have tons of meds to choose from. But…no, we must stay healthy and strong. It is soooo difficult!!! Good luck to you with your IVF!!!

  5. Hi there Kate, thanks for dropping by my humble home of whine on the blogosphere.

    For what it;s worth, I’m amazed that I’m not start raving bonkers after the last few years I’ve had. Meds DO sound good.

    I guess it’s just one foot in front of another for both of us, right?

    J


Leave a Reply

Categories

